National Competitiveness Forum Agenda

December 14-15, 2023, Salamander Hotel 1330 Maryland Ave SW Washington, DC 20024

December 14, 2023, Reception and Gala Dinner

6:00pm Dinner Reception

7:00pm National Competitiveness Forum Annual Gala Dinner

Honor the 2023 National Competitiveness Award recipient A word from Majority Leader Chuck Schumer and Senator Todd Young

December 15, 2023, National Competitiveness Forum

7:45 a.m. Registration and Breakfast

8:30 a.m. Putting Competitiveness in Context – Challenges and Opportunities for 2024

Council leadership will share the policy vision for the organization in context of the economic, global, and political realities facing the United States in 2024.

- Mr. Brian T. Moynihan, Chair and CEO, Bank of America, and Chair, Council on Competitiveness
- · The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith, President and CEO, Council on Competitiveness

8:50 a.m. The Four Pillars of Innovation: Place-Making Innovation, Deploying Tech-based Innovation at Speed and Scale, the Future of Sustainability, the Future of Work and the Workforce

Members of the Council Board and National Commissioners will explore the four pillars of innovation and preview the Council's next major policy report to be released late-2024.

- Ms. Joan Gabel, Chancellor, University of Pittsburgh, and Academic Vice-chair, Council on Competitiveness
- · Mr. Dan Helfrich, Chair and CEO, Deloitte Consulting LLP, and Business Vicechair, Council on Competitiveness
- · Mr. Charles O. Holliday, Jr., Chair Emeritus, Council on Competitiveness, and Chair, GFCC
- Dr. Thom Mason, President and CEO, Triad National Security, LLC (Triad), and Director, Los Alamos National Laboratory
- · Moderator: The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith, President and CEO, Council on Competitiveness

9:40 a.m. Expanding America's Tech & Innovation Potential

Two "Tech Talks" on the Biden Administration's focus on advancing technology in 2024 and beyond.

- **9:40 a.m.** Ms. Anne Neuberger, Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Advisor, Cyber & Emerging Tech at National Security Council, The White House
- **9:55 a.m.** Ms. Barbara McQuiston, Chair of the NATO Defense Innovation Accelerator for the North Atlantic (DIANA) Board of Directors

10:10 a.m. Setting Strategic Priorities from the Council's Technology Leaders

The first in a series of policy panels, leaders from business, academia and the national labs will explore the future of technology and its impact on U.S. innovation and economic growth.

- Dr. Patricia Falcone, Deputy Director for Science and Technology, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
- Dr. William Greene, Chief Investment Officer, Hevolution
- Dr. Sally Morton, Executive Vice President for Knowledge Enterprise, Arizona State University
- Dr. Steve Walker, Vice President and CTO, Lockheed Martin
- · Moderator: Mr. Chad Evans, Executive Vice President, Council on Competitiveness

10:55 a.m. Network Break

11:20 a.m. Building the National Security Research and Technology Infrastructure for the Future

Leaders from the national labs and Department of Energy will discuss the impact of the investments made in the 2022 CHIPS & Science Act, and the necessity of maintaining continued investment to ensure U.S. leadership in technologies ranging from AI to nuclear to HPC.

- Dr. Kim Budil, Director. Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
- The Honorable Jill Hruby, Under Secretary of Energy for Nuclear Security of the United States, Department of Energy
- Dr. James Peery, Director, Sandia National Laboratories
- Moderator: The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith, President and CEO, Council on Competitiveness

11:50 a.m. Taking Talent to the Next Level - Preparing the Workforce for a Sustainable U.S. Manufacturing Renaissance

The second leadership panel will explore the talent conundrum. Hailed as the United States' greatest asset and in many ways its greatest challenge, ensuring the country has the skilled workers to take advantage of the tremendous opportunities presented by the move to sustainability and the reinvestment in manufacturing will determine whether the country continues to lead in these critical sectors.

- Dr. Steve Ashby, Director, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
- Dr. Carol Burns, Deputy Director, Berkeley Lab
- Dr. Elizabeth Cantwell, President, Utah State University
- · Mr. Nick Pinchuk, President & CEO, Snap-on
- Dr. Gregory Washington, President, George Mason University
- Moderator: Dr. Pradeep Khosla, Chancellor, University of California, San Diego

12:35 p.m. Lunch & Networking Session

1:20 p.m. Setting the Vision for the "Competitiveness Conversations across the Country"

Council President and CEO Deborah Wince-Smith will map out the rationale for a major new Council initiative to vitalize innovation ecosystems around the nation.

- · Dr. James Clements, President, Clemson University
- · Mr. Josh Parker, Chair and CEO, Ancora L&G
- · Moderator: The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith, President and CEO, Council on Competitiveness

1:40 p.m. Tennessee – And the Future of Mobility

- Dr. Daniel Diermeier, Chancellor, Vanderbilt University
- · Moderator: The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith, President and CEO, Council on Competitiveness

1:55 p.m. Powering Innovation: Semiconductors and Clean Energy – a Competitiveness Conversation in the Mountain West

- Dr. Marlene Tromp, President, Boise State University
- Dr. Marianne Walck, Chief Research Officer, Idaho National Laboratory
- Moderator: Mr. Chad Evans, Executive Vice President, Council on Competitiveness

2:10 p.m. Growing Innovation: Chips, Qubits and Molecules – a Competitiveness Conversation across the Midwest

- · Dr. Mung Chiang, President, Purdue University
- · Moderator: The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith, President and CEO, Council on Competitiveness

2:25 p.m. National Competitiveness Forum Recap

Council leadership will share core insights and reflections from the day of conversations.

- · Mr. Brian T. Moynihan, Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Bank of America, and Chair, Council on Competitiveness
- · The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith, President & CEO, Council on Competitiveness

2:35 p.m. NCF Concludes