**Chair** Mr. Brian T. Moynihan *Bank of America* 

Business Vice-chair Mr. Dan Helfrich Deloitte Consulting LLP

University Vice-chair Ms. Joan T.A. Gabel University of Pittsburgh

Labor Vice-chair Mr. Kenneth W. Cooper IBEW

Chairman Emeritus Mr. Charles O. Holliday, Jr.

President & CEO The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith Council on Competitiveness

Executive Committee Mr. William H. Bohnett *Whitecap Investements* 

Mr. Walter (Ted) Carter, Jr. *Ohio State University* 

Dr. Mung Chiang Purdue University

Dr. James Clements Clemson University

Mr. Jim Clifton Gallup, Inc.

Dr. Michael M. Crow Arizona State University

Dr. Sheryl Handler Ab Initio

Dr. Farnam Jahanian Carnegie Mellon University

Dr. Mehmood Khan Hevolution Foundation

Dr. Pradeep Khosla University of California, San Diego

Dr. Gary S. May University of California, Davis

Mr. John May Deere & Company

Dr. Santa J. Ono University of Michigan

Mr. Nicholas T. Pinchuk Snap-On Incorporated

Dr. Donde Plowman University of Tennessee

Ms. Randi Weingarten American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO

Dr. David Kwabena Wilson Morgan State University

Dr. W. Randolph Woodson North Carolina State University

Mr. Paul A. Yarossi HNTB Holding Ltd.

Founder Mr. John A. Young The Hewlett Packard Company January 28, 2025

The Honorable Ted Cruz Chairman Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation Dirksen Senate Office Building, Room 554 Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Maria Cantwell Ranking Member Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation Russell Senate Office Building, Room 254 Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Cruz and Ranking Member Cantwell:

I write to you to express my strongest possible support for the nomination of Mr. Michael Kratsios to serve as Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP).

Michael is a tremendous leader, and his experiences both in the public and private sectors to shape and help navigate a constantly evolving and transforming science, technology, and innovation landscape would serve well the citizens of the United States and the President.

After leaving the first Trump Administration, Michael served up until his nomination as a Distinguished Fellow with the Council on Competitiveness providing invaluable guidance and expertise on critical science and technology issues impacting U.S. productivity and economic growth, prosperity, and national security. His expertise and knowledge of the cutting-edge of emerging and converging technology frontiers such as AI, quantum and cyber security are built upon both significant business experience, as well as deep policy engagement. During the first Trump Administration, he led national efforts such as the quantum initiative, and demonstrated his ability to work across all relevant agencies to optimize U.S. investments in research and development. And, in his work as Undersecretary of Defense, he understood and anticipated the growing connectivity between economic and national security, and the need for the Department to partner proactively with America's hyper-innovative private sector on technologies with increasing dual-use applications.

As the Council's private sector leadership and members undertake important new initiatives on the future of U.S. innovation, leadership in advanced computing to support the AI revolution, and the power and potential of the bioeconomy, we look forward to working with the new Administration in partnership with leaders like Michael Kratsios in his role as Director of OSTP.

Sincerely,

Deborch L. Dince

Deborah L. Wince-Smith President & CEO Council on Competitiveness

